Travel Tips and Tricks

After traveling basically my WHOLE life, I’ve found these tips to be super helpful. Up until this past trip from Japan, I’ve never flown with a baby. My 7 month old daughter and I flew to Japan this past March to visit Ray. He occasionally goes out of state for work purposes.

I do all the packing anyway because I don’t want him to forget anything. I like to be prepared for anything. Traveling with an infant definitely was different. You pack more. LOL.

Anyway, Here are some tips that may help you. Safe travels!!!!!

BOOKING

  1. Book AHEAD! Go on Skyscanner, Hopper, And Airfare Watchdog to get the best price for flights.

2. For Hotels, It is cheaper in my opinion to book as a package deal. Groupon is a great   inexpensive way to look for vacations/staycations. Some include airfare as well.

3. Different Airport. Try booking a flight out of a different airport. Maybe you live by          a couple airports, sometimes choosing the other one could save you hundreds of                dollars.

4. Infant In Arms? Make sure to call the airlines directly to let them know you will be traveling with an infant so they can possibly put you in a bulkhead seat ( more legroom). Some aircraft’s have a bassinet that attaches to the wall in front of the bulkhead seat. It is for smaller babies, around 26″ or less in height. The other option is to put you and baby next to an open seat. Trust me you are gonna want the extra space. Also, for international flights, you must call the airlines to book baby. Usually they charge 10% of the adult fare for baby.

ALWAYS

  1. BE NICE!!!!!! Always be nice to the people that serve/help you. It can get you lots of free upgrades/ waived fees! In Japan, I was over the baggage weight by about 9lbs. I was being super nice to the lady at the desk. She told me not to worry about the weight! SCORE! That saved me at least $75. at the gate, ask if you can get a free upgrade. I’ve done this before, got bumped from coach to First Class for FREE just by asking!
  2. ASK For Upgrades even At Hotel check-in, Ask if they can do a free upgrade or have any promotions (whether it be ocean view, pool view, upgrade in bed, etc… anything!)

 

PACKING TIPS:

This is how I personally pack and it works for me. Depending on where you are going and how long you will be gone for. Take in to account the laundry situation. Do you have time to wash laundry somewhere? Is there laundry facilities on site? In that way, you can pack less and save space for souvenirs. In my culture and family, everytime we travel, we always bring our family back souvenirs. Food, coffee, unique items, decor, hats, shirts etcc..

Without Baby

CARRY ON:

  • I usually have a big purse like a Tote bag style purse, or a backpack. I prefer traveling with a backpack and a small purse like a wristlet. For nights out, I’ll go with just the wristlet. If I’m out exploring in the day time, I have small 20L backpack. You want something that is strong and sturdy. I have this bag that I use as my daypack/diaperbag for Baby girl.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0032T8JUO/ref=twister_B01G22EOPQ?_encoding=UTF8&th=1

  • Ziploc Bags are a lifesaver! Use ziploc bags for all liquids (3.4oz or less) DUH, Makeup, paperwork, (to make it waterproof), snacks.
  • Hand sanitizer. Because GERMS ARE EVERYWHERE!
  • Lysol Wipes and Wet Ones. I love the Wet Ones Citrus Scent. I wiped down my seat, and tray table before sitting. I wipe the toilet before using also.
  • Body spray. I use the bathroom right when I get off the plane to freshen up, then spritz all over with a nice light body spray to energize me.
  • Water. Buy it after security. Flying makes you so dehydrated. Make sure to moisturize your face before the flight.
  • Wear comfortable clothes. A change of clothes, plus 2 pairs of underwear, extra socks. You can find me in either yoga pants and a nice sporty tunic and comfy shoes. Layer up!!
  • I always have a notepad and a pen. Everywhere I go. I use it to keep track of where I’m going, especially if I can’t pronounce the names, by writing down landmarks, store names etc because I don’t have international data on my phone.  I also take pictures on my phone. I write down cool things that happened, things I have to see, anything really. I can be forgetful.
  • Packet of Kleenex. Because the flight attendants basically give you half a napkin.
  • Personal Wipes. To freshen up during and after the flight.
  • Entertainment. I normally bring just a small book, or my iPad with me. I can get really restless during a flight and can’t stand to sit there and watch a movie. So I read. Or play games on my iPad/phone.
  • Camera. I always hand carry my camera, because I’m scared it might break with how rough they throw the luggage around.
  • Passport/ID. Keep it accessible and in a safe place. Don’t just put it inside of a pocket. Place it securely in something that zips up so it can’t fall out.

 

With Baby:

Same as above plus

  • 1 diaper minimum per flight hour plus 4 for before boarding and transit after flight.
  • Wipes
  • 2-3 Change of clothes for baby
  • Toys. Preferably one that doesn’t make a loot of noise. I got my girl a mini little abc cloth book from Walmart for under $2. She loves that thing. Or anything that makes a plastic-y sound.
  • Pacifiers. Get a couple. You may lose one, or get it dirty and not have the resources to properly clean it.
  • Breast feed on take off and landing. This is supposed to help with the discomfort of the pressure/altitude change. If you don’t breastfeed, at least let baby suck on a pacifier.
  • Baby carrier. I have the Baby Bambino and I love it. Baby is at an actual sitting position. Helps with preventing hip dysplasia. Also very convenient for traveling where strollers may not be feasible. I Carried her in the carrier after security, on my way to the gate so I can Gate Check the stroller/ Carseat. You dont ever want to get your stroller and car seat as  checked. It’s possible that it may become damaged en route. At least if you gate check it, it will be brought out immediately and be available to you as soon as you deplane. Super convenient.
  • Try to relax. Break up the time into blocks. It makes it go by faster. Get up and walk on the plane. Don’t let baby stay up before the flight thinking they will sleep the whole time. They may become fussy and irritate some people. I just let her take her normal naps and she was fine. Even though she was up a couple times, she was very pleasant and happy. It was great!
  • ASK FOR HELP if you need it. I was so overwhelmed with happiness when everyone (even travelers) where helping me just by grabbing this or that, or even holding baby so I can eat. Ask the wonderful flight attendants. They helped me out tremendously by re-seating others so I can get baby her own seat. They held baby so I can get something out of my carry-on. They are awesome!

 

 

Thanks for reading!

 

-LaniWould

 

 

Leave a Reply

